Christ the King School | Mission Statement

 

To form a community of faith and learning by promoting a Catholic way of life through gospel values and academic excellence.

 

Christ the King School | Hours, Address, Phone, Map

Website: http://elementary.sfcss.org/about-christ-the-king

Address: 1801 S Lake Ave, Sioux Falls, SD 57105

Phone Number: (605) 338-5103, Fax: (605) 335-1231

Hours of Operation: Schools Hours: 8:00 am-3:00pm

 

Christ the King School | Staff

Headed by Principal Julie Kolbeck, the Christ the King School is composed of a dynamic staff working together to ensure the overall growth and development of the students.

  1. Lana Bauer White, Physical Education, LBauer@SFCSS.ORG
  2. Jody Baruth, 6th Grade, LBaruth@SFCSS.ORG
  3. Katie Dow, Library Coord/Food Site Mgr, KDow@SFCSS.ORG
  4. Patrick Frankman, Art Teacher, PFrankman@SFCSS.ORG
  5. Mary Gundvaldson, Food Service,
  6. Kimberly Haffeman, Educational Assistant, KHaffeman@SFCSS.ORG
  7. Mary Hays-Reichelt, Preschool Teacher, MReichelt@SFCSS.ORG
  8. Dan Hughes, Educational Assistant, DHughes@SFCSS.ORG
  9. Chris Isaacson, Computer Instructor, CIsaacson@SFCSS.ORG
  10. Michelle Jeansonne, Academic Services, MJeansonne@SFCSS.ORG
  11. Julie Kolbeck, Principal, JKolbeck@SFCSS.ORG
  12. Mary Lenards, 1st Grade/Before School Care TA, MLenards@SFCSS.ORG
  13. Mary Markstrom, Administrative Assistant, MMarkstrom@SFCSS.ORG  
  14. Shirley Martell, 5th Grade, SMartell@SFCSS.ORG
  15. Jessica McDonald, 4th Grade, JMcdonald@SFCSS.ORG
  16. Katie Meert, 2nd Grade, KMeert@SFCSS.ORG
  17. Anthony Nelson, After School Care TA,
  18. Kim Nelson, Preschool Teacher, KNelson@SFCSS.ORG
  19. Tali Paulson, Counselor, TPaulson@SFCSS.ORG
  20. Jennifer Quissell, 3rd Grade, JQuissell@SFCSS.ORG
  21. Michelle Ratzloff, Preschool EA,
  22. Nicole Renshaw, Educational Assistant, NRenshaw@SFCSS.ORG
  23. Susan Richards, Instrumental Instructor, SRichards@SFCSS.ORG
  24. Emily Smith, Vocal Teacher, ESmith@SFCSS.ORG
  25. Dave Widman, Custodian,
  26. Jennifer Wrigg, Kindergarten/Before & After School Care Coordinator, JWrigg@SFCSS.ORG

Christ the King School | Calendar

Listed below are the activities of Christ the King School for the year 2018.

Date: MONDAY, JANUARY 8, 2018

Activity: SFO General

Time: 6:30 pm-7:30 pm

Location: Christ the King School

 

Date: WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 10, 2018

Activity: 1st Reconciliation and 1st Communion Meeting

Time: 6:00 pm-7:00pm

Location: Christ the King School

 

Date: WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 28, 2018

Activity: School Confessions

Time: 1:00 pm-2:00pm

Location: Christ the King School

 

Christ the King School | History

Christ the King School first opened its doors in 1955, with 138 students and four Benedictine sisters teaching. Today, it has about 130 students with one section for every grade level. The school currently has 30 students in its preschool program.

Christ the King School | School Program

Preschool

The school offers flexible preschool programs for children aged 3 to 5. Its preschool curriculum address faith development, fine and gross motor skills, pre-reading readiness skills, language development, and technology, music and art exploration. The students are fostered in a faith-filled, creative and nurturing learning environment under the hands of highly qualified teachers.

Kindergarten

A time for growing and learning, kindergarten is handled by dedicated and talented teachers who will work in building the learning foundation of the students for future success. Students are taught Catholic religion, language arts, mathematics, science and social studies, and specials (which includes music, physical education skills, art instruction, library skills and technology).

Elementary

Christ the King School offers education for children up to 6th grade, with one section for every grade. The average class side of 14 allows the community to easily gather for prayer and worship, as well as for fun activities. The students are taught to earn high scores and show excellent growth in academic areas on informal, formal and standardized tests.

 

Christ the King School | Parent Information

Parent involvement is very crucial in student success. This is why parents are encouraged to join in the numerous activities of the school throughout the school year. Some opportunities include driving for field trips, helping in the classroom and assisting office personnel. Parents can also participate in several committees, including the Advisory Board and School Family Organization (SFO).

Christ the KingSchool | Community-Building Activities

There are many activities throughout the school year that students, parents and the school can get involved in and help in the community. There is the yearly Walk-Athon held every September that requires lots of volunteers for fun and fundraising. Another one is the Family Bingo where school families and parish members play Bingo, eat and enjoy.

Christ the King School | Student Information

To benefit the parents, Christ the King School offers before and after school care on site. Before school care starts at 6:45 am until school starts at 7:45 am. By dismissal at 3:00 pm up until 6:00 pm, students are provided snacks, allowed to do homework and do other activities until they are picked up by their parents. This program offers a safe and comfortable environment for students.

 

 

Image URLs:

http://www.sfcss.org/wp-content/uploads/bfi_thumb/FullSizeRender-1-mbenpyv48hj75zmg4pzlx8se51hqxh8s93pounfp00.jpg

https://i.vimeocdn.com/video/614898692.jpg?mw=640&mh=352

http://elementary.sfcss.org/wp-content/uploads/bfi_thumb/img_1802-n79c0h7s3mb0xjpannyqqhfpq62sesolnjypqqefig.jpg

http://www.sfcss.org/wp-content/uploads/bfi_thumb/April-7-2011-024-m4n93tnipbho0b2zryt85iyfslkhj1n1nyfeecv6ve.jpg